Introducing a new topic – and making it stay relevant

In my former blogpost, I wrote about the relation between climate change and poverty, and I explained how green taxation can help fighting both. Was this topic new to you? Probably yes, but not only to you, I can assure you.

Even my own team was unfamiliar with it, although we are very successfully promoting other aspects of Fair taxation. Due to our effort in the fight against tax havens, for example, Oxfam was just elected Personality of the Year 2017 by euronews.

However, “Green taxation” – the topic of my internship at the Even it Up-team – seemed to be a vague expression. I had to dedicate the first months at Oxfam Novib to a proper introduction of the concept of taxes based on environmental impact. Just after that period, I could further elaborate the topic with my sparring partners: my team, the Tax Justice network and our local partners in several developing countries.

That is why I decided to sum up my experience of these first months, and share with you some advice on:

How to properly introduce a new topic and make it stay relevant?

1.Introduce the topic carefully

I was quite disappointed when my audience was not really enthusiast from the start. Now I know that people have to get used to its idea, especially if your topic is quite new or complex. So, I learned that it is always good to start with some basic information such as:

  • Why is it relevant? That can be political, economic, social or ecological aspects.
  • Who is affected by it? Certain groups or the whole population?
  • What are the effects? Short- and long-term, direct and indirect, local and global?

Once you get people’s attention, you can elaborate on potential solutions and start a dialogue.

picture 1

Photo Credit: Saikat Mojumder/ Oxfam Novib

 

2. Repeat the topic continuously

It is not enough to introduce your topic once. Try to find as many occasions as possible to repeat your message and look for different ways of presenting it. That can be elevator pitches, presentations, posters, games, little movies, whole workshops or seminars on the topic – be as creative as possible.

It does not always have to be you presenting the topic. In my case, there was a workshop in Uganda where most of the people I wanted to convince were present. As I was not able to participate, I prepared a presentation and asked a very inspiring colleague to present the topic on my behalf. It turned out to be a smart move – to have somebody else talking about your topic in a different manner using other words.

picture 2

Photo Credit: Saikat Mojumder/ Oxfam Novib

 

3. Address people individually

The best way to address people is to meet them face-to-face. However, in international working environments, these occasions are quite limited. Also, writing group-emails only won’t work. Like you, everybody is busy and will hope for someone else to reply to your mail. But there are alternatives.

For instance, if you want to get personal input, at least write a personal mail to every person in your feedback group.

Even better: Give them a (phone) call. If I send a request, I try to tell my feedback partner exactly what I would like to discuss. This way, people can prepare for the meeting and we do not loose time for long introductions. You can also choose to send them some background information, but make sure you keep it short – otherwise the chance is big they do not read it beforehand.

picture 3.jpg

Photo Credit: Saikat Mojumder/ Oxfam Novib

 

4. Highlight its connection to well-known topics

The best way to draw someone’s attention to your topic, is to relate it to his/her own subject of interest. Emphasize on similarities, explain the interrelation between both topics and highlight the importance of your topic it this context.

It is always a good idea to think of possible problems your sparring-partner is facing and how your topic can contribute to a solution.

picture 4.jpg

Photo Credit:  Aimee Brown/ Oxfam East Africa

 

5. Link the topic to different stakeholders

If you want your topic to stay relevant, make sure you do enough networking. In my case, after publishing the first draft report, I focused on sharing it with different stakeholders. I was told that only if I manage my topic to become the missing link in our network, I could ensure it remains in everyone’s head, even after the finalization of my internship.

I tried to do so internally, by bringing together different thematic units within Oxfam Novib. For external stakeholders, I organized a seminar on “Green and fair taxation” for Tax Justice Netherlands. In this Dutch network of NGO’s promoting Fair Taxation, my topic happened to be the missing link between organizations focusing on social and ecological issues.

picture 5.jpg

Photo: Caroline Gluck/ Oxfam

 

6. Try various approaches

Last but not least, do not give up after the first attempt! If your first approach does not do the trick, make sure you look for alternatives.

My initial idea was to collect different opinions on my topic via interviews with our partners in various developing countries. Two out of nine countries responded, and their first comments were far from encouraging. After talking to some colleagues in my team, we decided to take a different approach, based on the steps I have just explained.

This time, I received the first (positive) reactions within only a few days and I am very hopeful more responses are about to follow…

picture 6.jpg

Photo Credit: Saikat Mojumder/ Oxfam Novib

Katharina Posselt is intern with the EventItUp team in the Governance and Financial Flows unit. Connect with Katharina on LinkedIn here.

Leave a comment